top of page
  • Tony Casamento

A New Day

So it’s been 3 years since I retired. I think I’ve made some interesting career choices. I’ve been an assistant manager of a KFC, manager of a Pizza Hut, had my own vending machine business, worked in IT, and was an advisor in the investment business. I was in the military and as you know, had various roles in public education. And when I was 13, I had a newspaper delivery route. And I think I can say, I’ve done well in all my endeavors. Well, except for one – retirement. I kinda suck at being retired. Since I’ve ‘retired’ I have worked about an average of 30-35 hours a week. I was thinking about taking up golf or pickleball but fuggedaboutit. I’m officially back in the workforce. Today was my first day as a teacher in the local county jail. And I gotta say, it was a great day. Most of the day was spent in orientation. There are many things one needs to know about working in a jail. But I did have the chance to work with an ESL inmate struggling with the English language, I helped an inmate write a letter to his sentencing judge expressing remorse and finished the day helping a guy doing some math practice for his GED. I’m sure there will be some challenges ahead and some not-so-good days but I really think this will work out

32 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Guest
May 30

Such a variety in jobs , however this one with be different everyday and full of great experiences. Good luck !!!

The local county jail is privileged to have you !!

Like

ritaraftery
May 30

Rock it, Tony!!!! I think this could really be the best!

Like

Guest
May 29

I now you a short time but, I can see you are a great guy who wants to help people.

Warren katz

Like

Guest
May 29

One thing about folks from New Jersey, they never give up! Congratulations!

Like
bottom of page